Ultimate Reset from Beach Body, Uncategorized

UR Day Five . . .

So, yesterday, I decided it was my last day of quinoa salad, ha. I usually get hooked on foods and stick with them for weeks and weeks (except for blueberries and avocados – we’re friends for life) but after having it for 4 days straight, I’m kinda over it. Besides, I meal prepped for those 4 days, so now I’m going to some new recipes for the last three days of phase 1. I can’t believe I’m already five days in. It really hasn’t been bad at all. The only thing I really miss is wine. I liked having a glass (or two) at night, or during dinner, or whenever. I’m beginning to realize it’s more of a habit than anything – I don’t NEED to drink wine, it was just the habit I got into while I cooked dinner. Cooking and (oddly enough) meal planning IS my ‘me’ time. Nine times out of 10, you’ll catch me in the corner of my (tiny) kitchen.

So, last night I went to the store and got a few more ingredients I needed to complete my meals. I grabbed some sweet potatoes so I could make a few baked sweet potatoes for lunches, and got some of the ingredients for a Greek salad (sans meat) with pine nuts. I’ve already made creamy herb dressing that I’ll use for the salad as well. I LOVE sweet potatoes, and with the way they came out when I did the roasted root medley, that’s what I plan on doing with my Tuesday lunch. Dinner for tonight and Tuesday are going to be the same, southwestern veggie taco because I just love it and could eat it every night for dinner. But, Monday I will be doing 1c black beans, 1/2c steamed broccoli and 1/2c brown rice. I’m excited for that because that’s usually a staple meal in my house. It usually has my grilled orange chicken with it, but, I can live without my grilled chicken for 21 days. I lived without it for nearly 25 years.

I tried a new recipe the Ultimate Reset had in their book for Shakeology and I LOVE it! There really isn’t much to not like about Shakeology (in my opinion..and my two year old’s, too!) and I’m glad I’m branching out and trying new recipes. The one I tried today was 1/4c mashed avocado (which worked out perfectly because I put a little avocado on my salad and I don’t like eating it when it turns brown if I can see it, but I couldn’t see it in my shake, so I saved some produce that way 😉 and it also had some cinnamon in it. It was thick and creamy like when I used a banana, and that part I LOVE! My two year old and I were fighting over who got to make the big ‘sllluuurrrrrp’ noise at the end with the straw (I let her win, of course…)

Dinner tonight was the southwestern veggie taco again. I LOVE this! For dinner for my family, I made homemade mac and cheese, sauted fresh spinach and pork tenderloin marinated in my orange chicken recipe. While I would have loved some of that comfort food, I really enjoyed my dinner. I love not feeling bogged down with this intense full feeling, but I am full enough to not be hungry. I’ve really started beginning to listen to my hunger cues and my full cues. It feels amazing to be able to know what that feels like. I’m slowly changing my relationship with food, and that is big. I started that journey when I was starting the 21 Day Fix, learning portion control and learning which foods work best for my body. Doing the UR, now I am more in tune with what I put in my body, what foods go together to give your body the best results, etc. I’m getting on a better schedule with meal times and learning when my body is hungry. This will be a really helpful tool after I am done with the UR so I can learn when to say ‘I’m done’ or ‘I need to eat now’. I’m really anxious to see if I’ve made any progress, but I am trying to stay away from the scale and the measuring tape. I physically feel better; I feel lighter and not so weighed down.

I’ve really been missing exercising the way that I used to. It’s really taking a lot of getting used to. Going from Core De Force to light walking and yoga is a big change. I’m still trying to be in the moment and enjoy this rest I’m giving my body. It definitely needs it. When the kiddos go back to school Tuesday, I’m wanting to get back into my morning walk routine with Khloe in the Tula. We won’t walk nearly as many miles as we used to (usually 6-8 miles), but being able to walk 2-3 a day, plus my yoga will definitely be nice. Khloe loves to be worn and loves to go on our daily walks, so she’ll be glad we’re starting up again, too!

Standard

Leave a Reply

