Uncategorized

Election 2016 . . .

image

The first time I have ever voted.

 

I am starting this posting with a few points:

1) I’m never political – ever. Mainly because politics don’t interest me in the least; and I don’t trust the government to begin with anyway – but thats for a different post.

2) everyone is entitled to their own opinion – and everyone needs to be respectful of everyone – there’s a wrong and right way of handling difference of opinions – especially when dealing with politics.

3) what the hell, America? What. The. Hell?

i am almost 29 years old and this year was the first time I ever voted. I never understood the importance of it or the reason to. I always assumed (and honestly, today kind of solidifies why I feel this way) the people’s vote doesn’t matter anyway; it’s all about the electoral college (again).

Back when I was in college, I took a Women’s Studies class. I needed a humanities class and one of my favorite professors (who happens to be a kick ass lady from Turkey) was teaching it. I didn’t know how I would feel about that class because quite honestly, I’ve always been under the belief that a woman should stay home with the children, take care of her child, husband and home, have her husband go to work and provide for his family, and keep the ducks in a row. I personally feel that a family unit is stronger if that’s able to happen. But, guess what? We’re in a time where that’s hardly ever possible without MANY sacrifices and kids do thrive and survive when both parents work. And, let’s not forget that we women have a CHOICE whether or not staying home with our family or having a career is what’s best for the interest of our family.

I am so glad I took that class. I learned a lot about the fight women had to do, to be able to be looked at as just as good as their male counterparts (even though we’re still underpaid and not looked at as just as good as our male counterparts). I learned about the sacrifices the women before me made, to give us the right to vote for who we want to run our country. After watching documentaries and reading biographies and autobiographies of these incredible women, I told myself I’d make it a point to vote. It is important to vote. As a woman and as a mother, it is important to show my two daughters (and my son) that voting is a big deal.

I haven’t followed too closely on this election. Mainly because like I said before, I’m not into politics – but because of social media and articles online, it’s more in your face. It terrifies and saddens me that this will be the first election my older two children will remember – my son is seriously one of the smartest kids I know, and I’m not just biased. This kid is wise beyond his years in some aspects for sure – opinions and ideas are two of those aspects. We don’t have cable and we monitor his internet activity, so he doesn’t hear many ad commercials for either candidate and even he said today, “why does America want a bully as a President?” My 9 year old is asking me a question like this – it hurts my heart and it’s a question quite frankly, I don’t know how to answer. My 8 year old has asked why people are saying “they’re going to move to Canada if Trump is elected”. My kids shouldn’t be asking questions like this.

Eveey election there is a winner and there is a loser. This year is different, though. In my opinion, it felt like a popularity contest – while my husband and I were watching the news yesterday, every time a new report would come in, they’d say, “who’s it going to be? The first female president or a big businessman tycoon” – seriously, America? This isn’t the Kids Choice Awards for pete’s sake. It seriously feels like America is a huge joke. We are the laughing stock of the industrialized nations right now.

I have a few friends that are Trump supporters; not many, but a few and we’ve been respectful towards each other up until this point and that’s probably because we’re all adults. Which, really, has been quite nice. But, this is my blog and I am going to speak freely about how I feel because since I voted, I’ve got a right to voice it and, I’ve been quiet long enough.

I voted for Hillary Clinton. Not because I am a Clinton supporter and not because I think she’s the best person for the job. Not even because she was the “lesser of two evils” (IMO). I voted for her because if I voted third party or wrote in Bernie, my vote wouldn’t count (even more so) and it would help Trump win. I voted for her because I can’t look at my two daughters, at my mama, my grandma, etc with a straight face and say you’re not as important as someone with a penis. I can’t look at my minority friends (and hey, I’m in a minority, too!) with a straight face and say they’re not worth as much as their non-minority counterparts.

If you think Trump’s opinions about grabbing women by the pussy is just “locker room talk” – get the fuck out of here. If your husband spoke that way about you, your mother, your DAUGHTER, and you’re okay with that, that says a lot about your character. The comparisons of 50 Shades of Gray and what Trump said is rodiculous at best. There is a difference between actively giving consent for something between two mutual participants (then again, that book and the rest with that series are so poorly written and does not give an accurate description of the BDSM world AT ALL) and then there’s grabbing a woman by the pussy. How do you explain to your daughters to hell with your thoughts of having the right to your own body; men can do whatever they want, it’s okay, the President said so.

Our children don’t deserve to grow up in a world with so much hate and anger. Our children deserve so much more than that. They don’t need to be scared WW3 will start (because I don’t know about your kids, but mine have heard things like this while at school) regardless of who you voted for, I still love and respect you. We as parents and as the adults in the country need to lead with love and acceptance. That’s really the only way we can defeat what is to come in this great land of the free, home of the brave.

Standard

Leave a Reply

