My kiddos

Khloe’s 2nd Birthday Party!!

image

I love this picture of the kids! We’re missing a few, but this photo is awesome. It makes me feel like it should be on the front of an album ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜ฌ

You guys …. my baby is TWO! My youngest, Khloe Morgan, turned two years old on October 19, 2016. I cannot believe my youngest, and last child is already a toddler – and judging by her attitude, could totally be a teenager!

image

One of the many antics my child loves to do….

First off, I want to say thank you all who came to celebrate Khloe’s birthday with us! We love the fact we’ve got so many awesome friends and family around us.

I was cooking from Thursday until Sunday afternoon for her party, to make sure everything was great and we had enough. A lot of people think I go overboard, or do too much, but I don’t think I do. I enjoy cooking and preparing and hosting get togethers. I enjoy making up new recipes, or trying new ones to see which concoction is the best. I enjoy when my family and friends comment that they love the dishes I make, or give suggestions on how to switch it up to make it even better.

Thursday, I started out with cooking up the filling for my homemade chicken egg rolls.

image

Chicken egg rolls coming together

These are made with boneless skinless chicken breasts marinated in my orange chicken recipe, purple and green shredded cabbage, shredded carrots, fresh garlic (minced), green onions, salt, pepper, garlic and onion powder. Make the chicken and then sautรฉe the vegetables and mix them together. Let it cool a bit and then fill egg roll wrappers with the mixture. Deep fry (I’m sure you could bake them – I haven’t tried yet) for 3-4 minutes or until golden brown and there you go – quick easy homemade chicken egg rolls!

image

Just FYI – if you’re going to freeze them and use them later, only do a single layer and make sure you leave space so they don’t touch! Lesson learned ๐Ÿ˜

image

All of the food I prepared ๐Ÿ˜ And I’m proud to say there was only 1 rice ball and 1 egg roll left (who go my daughter and MIL ate once I told them ๐Ÿ˜‚) not pictured are the chicken wings I made – everyone ate them before I could snag a pic!

Because pur main foodย items were fried (chicken wings, egg rolls, rice balls, wontons), I decided to balance it out with a nice fruit and vegetable tray. I made homemade ranch and bleu cheese to go with the veggies. And, who doesn’t eat bleu cheese on chicken wings!? Especially nice, thick chunky bleu cheese, mmmmm!

My daughter has always had a dairy sensitivity – while I was actively nursing her, I cut dairy out of my diet completely for about 18 months. We’re slowing introducing her to some dairy, but we like to err on the side of caution and do dairy free as much as possible – so I made her cupcakes, mini cake and both of her frostings. They didn’t require a lot of work and they were pretty yummy! My husband said the chocolate frosting tasted like chocolate ice cream (and, I forgot a pic of the chocolate frosting, but here’s the vanilla!)

We had a bounce house for the kiddos and it definitely was awesome – the adults could hang out and catch up while the kiddos ran around and got out a ton of energy – win-win! My husband went out and bought a bunch of balls for them to play with in there and that was a hit – although our boxer attacked quite a few.

She loved opening up her presents and especially loved all of her baby dolls she got, along with a big doll house that signs and lights up. She’s definitely a little girlie girl.

As I sit and reflect back on the two years Khloe has been in our lives, one word comes to mind – fireworks! She’s our beautiful little ball of energy and personality and can explode within seconds, but something amazing always comes out in the end. I love this little girl more than words could ever express. Our lives are filled with so much love and joy because she’s in it.

image

My baby and me ๐Ÿ™‚ she melts my heart!

Standard

Leave a Reply

