21 Day Fix Recipes

21 Day Fix Approved corn bread!

14884691_10155333465449838_7388646181808029655_o

21 Day Fix approved corn bread! Absolutely delicious! For my 21DF people the container counts are: 1Y | 1.5tsp | 1sp sugar | 184.53 cals | 8 grams of fat | 9 servings

You guys! I was so excited to find this recipe because I used my left over sausage, turkey meatballs, peppers and onions with homemade sauce and turned it into 21 Day Fix approved chili! What goes better than corn bread with chili? A 21 Day Fix version so you can eat guilt free!! I made a few minor adjustments because I didn’t have raw sugar (I used raw honey instead), but it still came out awesome! My daughter who is a pretty picky eater ended up scarfing down two and a half pieces! My husband who is a die-hard sweet corn bread lover thought this tasted excellent, too!! They added butter on theirs, but I added a little drizzle of honey atop of mine and it worked out really well!

INGREDIENTS:

~EVOO or cooking spray
~1 1/4c whole wheat pastry flour (I didn’t have any WWPF but I did have whole wheat flour – I took out two tablespoons of the whole wheat flour and added two tablespoons of cornstarch – I’d probably purchase some WWPF though if you can beforehand – it was a little dense, but worked in a pinch!)
~3/4c corn meal
~3 tablespoons of raw sugar (I used honey, and only did 1 tablespoon)
~2 tsp of baking powder
~1/2 tsp salt
~1 egg beaten (for my 21 DF people – because this makes 9 servings, I didn’t count it as any portion of a protein container)
~1c unsweetened almond milk (though, I hate almond milk so I used unsweetened organic soy milk — and I used quite a bit more than a cup — but I am assuming that’s because I did what I did with the flour)
1/4c coconut oil (or you can use EVOO – I think the CO gives it a sweeter taste and it’s not overly coconutty – I’m not big on coconut usually)

DIRECTIONS:

~Preheat the over to 400 degrees. Spray an 8×8 baking dish with cooking spray or EVOO and set it aside.
~Whisk together flour, cornmeal, sugar, baking powder and salt.
~Stir in the remaining ingredients just until combined. DO NOT OVER MIX!
~Bake for 20 minutes (though, it took mine about 29 minutes – I don’t know if that has to do with the flour or not)
~Let it cool and cut it into 9 squares.

Enjoy!! Like I said earlier, we paired it with homemade chili. Three days ago I made sausage, peppers, onions and turkey meatballs in the crock pot. I seem to never be able to feed just our family, so, I always have a TON of leftovers. What’s great is this freezes super well and I froze half of the sauce with all of the meat and veggies and left half of the red sauce in the crock pot. I browned some 93% lean ground beef, added a can of black beans and a can of red beans, some chili powder, more Texas Pete hot sauce, spices, etc. and bam! I have a huge crock pot full of homemade chili. I was feeling a chili day because it’s been beautiful and breezy today down here and it’s definitely a nice change.

14889721_10155333614884838_175460594082557874_o

My homemade chili. I counted 1.5c as: 1R | 1Y | 1G

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

