Uncategorized

Cauliflower “mashed potatoes” recipe!

14706929_10155327182674838_1757940264427448336_o

So, I’ve never been a huge startch/carb person (unless you’re talking homemade bread – then I am totally there!) but I do love me some comfort food – and that’s exactly what this side dish consists of – yummy warm comfort food! It was a very simple meal to make and takes a few minutes.

INGREDIENTS:

~ 1 head of cauliflower
~ 1 medium yellow onion (I only used about half of a medium one and it had plenty of flavor)
~ 2 cloves of garlic, minced (I diced my pretty finely, because I LOVE garlic and I added an extra clove, too)
~ 1/4c water
~ 1tbs EVOO (extra virgin olive oil)

DIRECTIONS:

~ Chop up the cauliflower into small pieces (I chose to take some of the stems off – only if they fell off when I cut up the heads of the cauliflower – I don’t think it’ll matter because it’s going in a food processor/blender anyway!) and set it aside
~In a pan, satuee the onion and garlic with the EVOO until it’s pretty soft
~Add the cauliflower and water to the mix, and steam for 6-8 minutes until it’s pretty tender, but don’t overcook it!
~After it’s done being steamed, transfer the mixture into a blender or food processor and blend until smooth!

I added shredded cheddar cheese on top because I hadn’t used my blue container (healthy fat) yet and it made it that much better! Added some cracked pepper over top and YUM YUM YUM.

Enjoy!

Standard

Leave a Reply

