Uncategorized

7 WEEKS doing the 21 Day Fix

So, y’all, it’s been SEVEN weeks since I started doing the 21 Day Fix. I *never* thought I’d get to where I am now. I am getting back into amazing shape, the RIGHT way. My husband and I were fortunate enough to be able to get out of the house last Friday. A get-away to a hotel, sans kids! First time we’ve been alone since May, first time we’ve been in a hotel room since my birthday in February of 2015! I bring this up because . . . my husband can’t keep telling me how proud of me he is. I’ve never had a partner that actually loves and supports me and is my constant cheerleader throughout this entire lifestyle change. He’s proud of me because I am doing this the right way. I am eating healthy (three MEALS a day PLUS two snacks!), I am exercising in a non-obsessive form (my awesome walks and 21 day fix program!) and I am gaining something I don’t typically have – confidence. For the first time EVER in my entire life, I am starting to like what I see in the mirror. Granted, I am A LOT heavier than I was before I had my kids almost 10 years ago, I definitely didn’t have any stretch marks ANYWHERE on my body before kids (and now they are EVERYWHERE), but you know what? That’s okay. I am STRONGER than I ever have been – both mentally and physically. Mentally, I still fight the eating disordered thoughts, but they are so few and far between anymore because I’m ‘fixing’ my brain to eat like a ‘normal’ person (well, what’s normal for me anyway!) I wake up well rested (well, you know, when the toddler isn’t being a monster and keeping me up all hours of the night). I wake up feeling like I can conquer anything that life throws at me. For example, this morning, my toddler kept me up from 3 until 6am today. She did the same thing Thursday night as well. And Wednesday. And Tuesday. And, well, you get the picture. I could choose to let it ruin my day (and, in the moment, it feels like the day is completely ruined). I could choose to take the older kids to school, come back home and sleep while she sleeps, but, I didn’t. I chose to get up, get my day started and walked over 5 miles (with coffee in hand!). It was beautiful outside and the weather has been amazing in South Florida lately, so I took the opportunity.

I love the community I’ve been fortunate enough to hang out with lately that is part of  BeachBody. The group I am a part of on Facebook is awesome; I’ve got support, motivation, awesome new recipes, and FRIENDS there. Everyone has their own journey and story, and I love learning about other people’s struggles and successes. That’s what this lifestyle change is all about. Conquering your own struggles and telling about your amazing successes.

And, here is a progression photo. The top three photos are from September 6, 2016 (I posted them once before with a 3 week transformation on the bottom earlier in my blog) and the bottom three photos are from today, SEVEN WEEKS later! Going through this journey has been crazy, and this is just the beginning! I’ll say it again like I said previously, I cannot believe I am actually posting these photos. I am super self-conscious of my body, especially after having children. My stomach has taken a huge beating, having had preeclampsia with two of my three children (who were born 16 months apart), needing to gain weight because I was still active in my ED when I conceived Daniel and because I retained SO MUCH water with their pregnancies. I have to face the fact that my body will NEVER be the same after I had my children – it just won’t. I won’t be able to fit into my size 00’s (even though I’ve still got them in a tote in my closet – hoarder, anyone?), but that’s OKAY. I’m not going to sit here and say because I’ve lost over SEVENTEEN pounds! and many inches off my waist, bust and hips I’m magically the most confident person in the world and I don’t care about my stretch marks – nope, I still care, they still remind me sometimes of what my skin once looked like and how I envy that, BUT, I am PROUD that I’ve made healthy changes. I’m proud that I can look in the mirror and not cry. I am proud I can tell my husband or my best friend that I’m losing weight in the right way and toning correctly without feeling like I’m being scrutinized. And, having those feelings means more to me than no stretch marks. img_2215

Standard

5 thoughts on “7 WEEKS doing the 21 Day Fix

Leave a Reply

