Uncategorized

Day 21 of the 21 Day Fix is complete!

 

image

For some reason, the dates are cut off. The left should’ve 9/6/16 and the right should be 9/27/16

i am going to start off with – I wasn’t expecting to lose a ton of weight – I wanted to prove to myself I could stick to something, I could commit to something and I could slowly start to learn to actually love myself – for the first time like, ever. I don’t ever show pictures of myself without clothes on covering the scary parts – I don’t like posing many photos at all.

While I was putting together the collage shown above, I was apprehensive wetter or not I wanted to share it to social media – in fact – I told my Beach Body Heath Bet coaches and challengers I wasn’t going to. I didn’t know whether or not to be proud of the after photos, or to still feel disappointed I’ve worked so hard, and I don’t see much results.

After talking with them, and hearing their kind words, I decided I not only should, but I NEEDED to, for myself. You can only hide behind clothes for so long before your personality starts showing. I have been so unhappy for so long, and constantly doing the wrong things in hopes things will change. I am so glad I took these 21 days to take a chance and believe in myself.

I have managed to lose 11 pounds – the healthy way!! for the first time EVER, in my 28 years of life. I can actually be PROUD of this weightloss because I didn’t starve myself. I didn’t purge. I didn’t over exercise and try and justify why. I stuck to a healthy meal plan and ate 3 meals and two snacks each day – for the first time since I got out of residential treatment over 10 years ago. I began to listen to hunger and full cues – cues I seriously didn’t even knew existed! I am not obsessing over calories because the containers work so well for me, and for me, that equals less stress.

I feel stronger that I’ve EVER felt. I couldn’t do a “real” push up for 10 seconds, let alone an entire minute! My flexibility has gotten a lot better. My legs are stronger. My waist is smaller. I can *almosr* see my abs again. The weights I started out with seem light to me now.

A BIG change I’ve noticed is my energy level and my fibromyalgia pain. In the entire 21 day fix, I had two fibro pain days. The second day and today, the last day. And I attribute those days to lack of sleep. My pain always seems to be worse when I don’t get enough sleep. I’d have the typical aches and pains anyone gets when you dramatically change your exercise habits; but thankfully, after continuing to push through and work towards my goals, I feel GREAT after my work outs. It doesn’t take as long for my breathing to go back to normal, I can bend my legs after doing burpees now. I can rest my forehead to either knee while stretching – hell, I can do almost a 2 minute plank! 21 days ago, I didn’t think I could do any of that. But I put forth the effort and it paid off.

My energy level  is great! I don’t need cup after cup of coffee to get my day going – I have breakfast and do a morning work out and that lifts my energy level so much. It helps me focus and get more organized. Working out isn’t a chore – I don’t use excuses not to do it. I get it done because I was sick and tired of not putting ME as a priority. I love my children and husband and will always love and take care of them; but I’m finally realizing I need to take care of myself as well.

I was at a friends’ daughters’ birthday party this weekend. I brought along my own food (homemade PB granola as a snack and homemade buffalo chicken cheese dip with veggies as lunch – both 21 day fix approved and I’ll pass along the recipes shortly!) so I could stay on track AND still enjoy myself. A girl there was interested in the shakeology (I’ll be posting about shakeo separately and shortly!) and what the 21 day fix was all about, but she said she couldn’t be as dedicated as me. I like to think of this as a complete lifestyle change. Everyone finds their thing that works for them – this works for me. It took the obsessive “I can only eat one thing at one time a day” to: okay, this is how you fuel your body and energize your body – you need to do these things in order to get results.

Im not going to sit here and say that this is a magic fix, a cure all – because clearly, there is still work that needs to be done. However, this program has been amazing for me.

I am posting the above pictures so I can be proud of where I’ve come from. I am getting a little more confident each and every day. There are still days (like today) where I ask myself, what’s the point? Then, I look at those photos and realize, THAT is the point. In just 21 short days, I’ve done a lot. Not just physically – but mentally.

Standard

Leave a Reply

