Uncategorized

3 Day Refresh . . .

14188307_10155158251214838_5074959128941279304_o

Getting my Beach Body 3 Day Refresh program, big bag of vegan chocolate Shakeology and my 21 Day Fix program in the mail

I started hearing about BeachBody in a Facebook group I am in for mother’s that had the same due date as my youngest daughter. There was a mom in there that gave us a chance to try a free 5 day online group, to get a meal plan for that week, get motivation and encouragement, learn five new exercises for the week you can incorporate into your everyday life or add to an existing workout program. I followed, albeit loosely, for a few months, but not really thinking *I* could do it.

My husband bought me a Fitbit in March of this year, for our anniversary. I had wanted one for a while, to motivate myself to start exercising more than I had been – which, quite honestly, wasn’t very much. I have fibromyalgia, and a lot of the time, the flares hurt too much to do intense working out. I started out small, walking about two or three miles a day, with my daughter, Khloe, on my back in her Tula baby carrier. After a few weeks, I got up to four miles, and before I knew it, I was walking six, eight, even 10 miles daily – and it felt great! Living in south Florida, however, in the summer, is a bad time to do a 10 mile walk during the afternoon. So, I found another solution – finding YouTube videos to do my miles indoors, WHILE incorporating cardio and strength training. I found two channels that really worked well for my fibromyalgia, and it helped me raise up my endurance to be able to start to do harder work outs.

As I stated in my introduction, I have suffered from anorexia purge type since I was about five years old. I have been to several residential treatment centers, hospitals, inpatient therapy, outpatient therapy. I’ve seen many therapists, psychiatrists, psychologists, nutritionists, the list goes on and on. I’ve struggled to maintain my recovery since 2007. Nearly nine years later, and I still have days where I purge. I still have days where I restrict until very late at night, because I don’t want to “mess up my clean day” with food. This is the first time I am actually admitting it, out in the open. It’s not something I am proud of. It’s not something I want to admit, but, there it is. Since I have been exercising too much, and eating way too little, at too late in the evening (nearly 10pm), I have ended up gaining weight, and not getting the results that I would assume you’d get by not eating much and exercising too much. I would wake up in the morning and weigh myself, and get so discouraged. Why was I exercising and not eating a lot, and STILL gaining weight? Why couldn’t I just eat like a “normal” person and lose weight and get fit? That’s where BeachBody and Shakeology come into play.

I knew I needed a new plan. A new way to HEALTHILY lose weight and remain where I wanted, without obsessing and feeding into my OCD tendencies when it comes to food, calories and exercise. I started out trying a sample pack of the vegan Shakeology – two packets of the tropical strawberry and two packets of chocolate. I didn’t know what to expect at first. The taste was surprisingly really delicious. To be honest, at first, I didn’t really know if I should “give in” or “believe” all of the hype about Shakeology or BeachBody in general. A lot of people think it’s a scam or a pyramid scheme. I don’t see it that way. All of the women (I haven’t met any men that do BB, but there are tons out there) I have met, are nothing but encouraging, motivating, wonderful people. They believe in their products and it’s hard not to. The results are in front of your face. When I tried the sample pack, those four days were great; I didn’t need coffee, I didn’t feel sluggish and I didn’t get a migraine from not drinking coffee. My energy level was great, and I was able to get more exercises in. The best part for me, was that I was actually eating more than once a day, and DURING the day! That was a big feat for me. I am always putting myself on the back burner, as most moms do. When you have multiple kids, a husband and a few crazy animals, you tend to get everything done for everyone else, and *if* you have time, you get some ‘you’ time. I needed to start making myself a priority. I needed to fill up my tank before constantly filling others and leaving mine empty. I was sick and tired of being sick and tired, plain and simple.

14195373_10155160147839838_1014961356139004795_o
**the above picture is my day 1 of the 3 Day Refresh – my Shakeology wasn’t pictured here; I drank it too quick, ha!**
I chose the 3 Day Refresh as a start to getting healthy. Essentially, it is 3 days of a Shakeology shake in the morning with fruit and water (my favorite combo so far is 1/2 a medium banana, a ton of ice, 10oz of ice cold water and the chocolate Shakeology. I blend it in my Ninja and it tastes just like a chocolate milkshake – and I’m not even a chocolate person and it’s delicious!), a fiber sweep drink in the late morning to help clean out your system, lunch is a fruit, a veggie and a Vanilla Refresh shake (I usually blend up my fruit in the shake as well, to make it a little thicker like a milkshake and I always add ice). Afternoon snack is a veggie with a healthy fat and then supper, they have a few recipes you can choose from and you also have a Vanilla Refresh shake. I don’t feel hungry or dizzy or crazy – I don’t feel like I am starving. I feel like I am rebooting my system, to start my journey to make my body healthy for the first time, EVER. The portions are exactly right, for me, where I don’t feel too full. I want to get the hunger and full cues in my life back; I honestly don’t think I have ever been able to listen to them.

14241513_10155163790119838_6894014941249280697_o
**Day 2 of my 3 Day Refresh**

Above, I had my chocolate Shakeology for breakfast, my fiber sweep drink (that isn’t pictured above), a Vanilla Refresh shake with 6 strawberries blended in, 6 strawberries on the side, 1 cup of cucumbers, and 2 tablespoons of my homemade hummus (*recipe for hummus will be down below). For my afternoon snack, I satueed 2 cups of spinach with fresh chopped garlic, lemon, cracked pepper and 1tsp of EVOO. It was delicious! And for supper, I had a Vanilla Refresh shake and I used their veggie medley recipe that was pretty fantastic. Again, I didn’t feel full and didn’t feel like I was starving. I was able to eat every few hours, something I NEVER do, and it felt great!

I am on my last day of the 3 Day Refresh, and I can honestly say I woke up HUNGRY and ready to drink my Shakeo and half a banana mixed in with cold cold water and lots of ice! I was EXCITED that I felt hungry — I haven’t felt hungry in the morning for anything in YEARS. Most of that was mental, I am sure, but I’ve honestly never been a morning eater simply because I eat so late at night. I will admit, I like the feeling of being hungry, so the feeling doesn’t bother me. But now, NOW, I have a reason to eat – I AM going to get healthy and I AM going to be a healthy mother to my kids, and a healthy person in my mind, as well as my body. I woke up last week, on a Wednesday, and new, today was the day. I am DONE being sick and tired. I have a lot of people backing me up and a lot that are proud of me. That means the world to me. So, while I have people cheering me on, I am wanting to cheer on others around me, no matter what journey they’re taking. I am not here to sell this product, because if you know me, you know I am terrible at that (VS credit cards, anyone?), I am simply believing in this product, because it is helping me to believe in myself.

14291824_10155167168709838_8081314190107052779_n
**Day 3 of the 3 day refresh**

So, I just completed my third and final day of the 3 day refresh. I have to say, it was quite easy to follow the meal plan. My body feels pretty amazing! I feel light, not bogged down with sluggy nastiness. I have lost a few pounds as well. I know it isn’t “real” weight per say, but, my body definitely needed a few days to detox and eat the way the 3 day refresh plan is set up. It got rid of the toxins in my body that its been holding on to for so long. I am really pleased with my results doing the 3 day refresh. I definitely recommend it to those that want to get a jump-start to their path to getting healthy.

I used the 3 day refresh because tomorrow, I start the meal plan portion of the 21 day fix. I have been doing the 21 day fix exercise program for the three days I did the 3 day refresh, so I am really anxious and excited to get started on the meal program.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

